A Journal in a Jar #1

Not sure what to write about, so I thought I’d grab a slip of paper from the Journal in a Jar. A dozen years ago, a coworker gave my such a jar. I’ve held onto all those years. Today, I will begin to set it free as I respond one suggestion at a time. Today’s prompt is, ‘What’s your favorite holiday and how do you celebrate it?’

The calendar is full of holidays. There is even a National Day every day. We always have something to celebrate. The one that rises above all other holidays, my numero uno favorite day is the one that hasn’t been written down yet. It’s the kind of day that sneaks up on you. When you wake up and decide today is my special holiday. It’s not a paid holiday, but I have enough time on the books to cover it. My favorite holiday is called Sick, Not Sick Holiday.

This day is celebrated by doing what ever you want. It could start off with breakfast at the beach. Sprinkled with a walk in the sand and a chat with your mate. Mind you, you get to pick who you call mate. It could be a friend, a sister, a child, or your partner. It could even be your dog, Denali. Next, it would require that you stop by Joe’s Italian Ice and have a cherry, mango Joe Latte. They provide puppy treats too. Now, it’s more me moments with a facial, a massage, or a yoga stop. A shopping spree to find that outfit for dinner and a dance. That brings you right back home to snuggle up with a book, a bubble bath, or movie night with my Babi.

Day #4/31 #SOL23

That’s how I celebrate my favorite holiday. What’s yours?

3 Comments

  1. That is the best kind of holiday! I remember once when we were young, my Dad, who was always working, woke us up and said no school for you two and no work for us. We are going to stay home and read and spend time together all day long! It’s play hooky day! It was joyful. Thanks for sparking the memory for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of a “Journal in a Jar”! I’m requiring such inspiration myself, so soon in March. Your “Sick, Not Sick” Day sounds a lot like mine would, except with a dog named Frida. I think I’d like to start one of these jars too! Great way to “find” things about which to write!

    Like

Leave a comment